Media Students Capture Four National Titles



This past weekend the 80th Intercollegiate Broadcast System International Media Conference and Awards was held in New York City. The annual IBS New York City Conference is focused on New Trends in High School/College Radio/TV/Webcasting!

The conference was located at Hotel Pennsylvania, across from Madison Square Gardens and Penn Station and featured over 150 speakers, over 100 schools and 1,000 attendees from all over the world! This year, IBS received five times the number of entries from last year.  It is the largest IBS conference of the year and part of the IBS 2019-2020 coast-to-coast conference series!

The IBS Trophy Awards honored excellence in programming, air personalities, public service efforts, and outstanding stations both in high school and college radio and television. The 2020 winners were announced and trophies presented to all finalists and winners.  IBS presented IBS Golden Microphone Trophies to winners/finalists during the finale of the conference. 

This is the sixth year in which LJH Digital Storm students at Lincoln Junior High have been named as finalists in the media competition.  This year, 15 Storm Radio and Storm TV student groups were announced as finalists in the high school division, representing the top five percent in each of the high school categories.  LJH Digital Storm students received an impressive 4 National Winner trophies and 11 National Finalist trophies. You can view and listen to all winner and finalist submissions at (



V10: BEST USE OF GRAPHICS– Staff Appreciation Week /Tv video– LJH Digital Storm Staff


V04: BEST SPORTS REPORTTV– Boys Cross Country vs Warsaw- Elizabeth Williams, Zak Kresser, Joy Everett, Sue Everett


V06: BEST COMEDY PROGRAMTV/Video– The Pocket Watch- Blake Hedger, Treyvon O’Leary, Trey Hall, Caden Bare, Kavan Holm- 


W05: BEST USE OF YOUTUBETV/Video– LJH Digital Storm YouTube- LJH Digital Storm Staff


Additionally, the following students were awarded finalist trophies in their categories:


A04:  BEST TALK PROGRAM- FTA Talk Show- Radio- Nancy Garcia and Harley Mast


N09:  BEST NEWS PROMOTION- Storm Radio Alexa One-Minute News Update- Caleb Bowling, James Pierce, Roslin Lester


P07:  BEST LINE/SWEEPER- Storm Radio Sweeper- Michael Lyons and Logan Williams


S10: BEST SPORTS PRE/POST- GAME SHOW- Radio– Plymouth Rockies Pre-Game Show- David Sills and Tanner Gault


V01: BEST NEWSCAST- WNDU – Storm TV Weather Newscast- Rylee Mann and Kayla Johnson


V02:  BEST NEWS REPORT- TV– Community Couch- Expressions Dance Studio- Dayanara Vargas, Jorge Galindo Morales, Emily Diaz, Jessika Paguada


V03:  BEST SPORTS PROGRAM- TV– Chicago Marathon- David Sills and Jack Newcomb


V07:  BEST VARIETY PROGRAM- TV/Video– Tragedy- Abe Rebollo, Ivan Turcios, Juan Salas, Dom Giordano, Connor Schmiedlin, and Noble Bockman


V08:  BEST TALK PROGRAM- TV–  WNDU Community Couch- Jorge Galindo MoralesAll submissions can be found at LJH DIGITAL STORM 


V09: BEST PROGRAM PROMOTION- TV– LJH Digital Storm Film Festival Promotion- LJH Digital Storm Staff


V11: BEST COMMERCIAL/PROMOTION- TV– Yearbook Fire Sale- Deadline Approaching- Diego Zelaya, Dulce Rosas, Alissa Kessler, Lilly Hinderlide